Courtesy: America East Communications

Ohlmiller, Etrasco, Stephens Earn Spots on the U.S. Women's Lacrosse National Team

Release: 08/08/2016

Sparks, Md. – Stony Brook women’s lacrosse rising junior Kylie Ohlmiller (Islip, N.Y.) was named to the 2017 U.S. Women’s National Team Sunday by US Lacrosse following a three-day tryout at the organization’s national team training center. Joining Ohlmiller is another former America East standout in Boston University's Danielle Estrasco, who was the 2011 conference Player of the Year, as well as current UMBC assistant coach, Morgan Stephens.

Ohlmiller is one of just nine active NCAA student-athletes named to the team. The Seawolves attacker ranked fourth in the nation in assists (47) and fifth in points (91) on her way to a second-team IWLCA All-American selection.

The 36 players selected will train in the lead-up to the 2017 Federation of International Lacrosse (FIL) Women’s World Cup in Guildford, England. Ultimately, 18 players will represent the U.S. as the team goes for a third consecutive and eighth overall world title.

“We’re always surprised at who the 36 are, because it’s not always the 36 we thought going into the tryout,” said Team USA coach Ricky Fried. “That speaks volumes to the process and to the coaches and evaluators involved. It’s a process that creates great value.”

The 2017 U.S. Women’s National Team
Alex Aust, Attack, Maryland 2013
Danielle Etrasco, Attack, Boston University 2013
Cortney Fortunato, Attack, Notre Dame 2017
Brooke Griffin, Attack, Maryland 2015
Alyssa Leonard, Attack, Northwestern 2014
Alyssa Murra, Attack, Syracuse 2014
Kylie Ohlmiller, Attack, Stony Brook 2018
Kayla Treanor, Attack, Syracuse 2016
Michelle Tumolo, Attack, Syracuse 2013
Maggie Bill, Midfield, North Carolina 2017
Sarah Bullard, Midfield, Duke 2011
Allyson Carey, Midfield, Vanderbilt 2012
Taylor Cummings, Midfield, Maryland 2016
Shannon Gilroy, Midfield, Florida 2015
Nicole Graziano, Midfield, Florida 2016
Marie McCool, Midfield, North Carolina 2018
Kelly Rabil, Midfield, James Madison 2007
Katie Schwarzmann, Midfield, Maryland 2013
Taryn VanThof, Midfield, Loyola 2015
Francesca Whitehurst, Midfield, Georgetown 2019
Laura Zimmerman, Midfield, North Carolina 2012
Rebecca Block, Defense, Syracuse 2009
Kristen Carr, Defense, North Carolina 2010
Megan Douty, Defense, Maryland 2015
Alice Mercer, Defense, Maryland 2016
Jennifer Russell, Defense, North Carolina 2010
Spring Sanders, Defense, Northwestern 2016
Maura Schwitter, Defense, Duke 2017
Sloane Serpe, Defense, North Carolina 2014
Morgan Stephens, Defense, Virginia 2015 - UMBC Assistant Coach
Courtney Waite, Defense, North Carolina 2015
Liz Hogan, Goalie, Syracuse 2011
Gussie Johns, Goalie, USC 2018
Rachel Vander Kolk, Goalie, Virginia 2018
Caylee Waters, Goalie, North Carolina 2017
Devon Wills, Goalie, Dartmouth 2006

“The athleticism and skill displayed was, as always, at a very high level,” Fried said. “What we’re more excited about is the ability of our returning players to make our younger players feel like they are part of something bigger than themselves by being here; that it’s more meaningful to be a part of a program than just part of a World Cup team.”

Quotes were obtained via US Lacrosse’s announcement of the 2017 U.S. Women’s National Team.