Lucy Van Dalen and Tyler Johnson, both of Stony Brook University, earned the conference's 2011-12 Female and Male Scholar-Athlete of the Year awards.
Lucy Van Dalen and Tyler Johnson, both of Stony Brook University, earned the conference's 2011-12 Female and Male Scholar-Athlete of the Year awards.
Courtesy: America East Communications

Stony Brook All-Americans Capture Scholar-Athlete of the Year Awards

Release: 07/18/2012
CAMBRIDGE, Mass. — Lucy Van Dalen and Tyler Johnson of Stony Brook University have earned the conference’s top individual academic honor as the 2011-12 Female and Male Scholar-Athlete of the Year award winners. The two Seawolves become only the second pair from the same school, and first since Vermont’s Connor Tobin and Kristen Millar in 2009, to sweep the America East Scholar-Athlete of the Year awards.

Van Dalen and Johnson were chosen from a group of 19 student-athletes who were tabbed Scholar-Athletes in their respective sports by a committee of athletic administrators and NCAA Faculty Athletics Representatives. The committee each year elects a Scholar-Athlete in each of the league’s 20 championship sports following the fall, winter and spring seasons. Van Dalen captured the award in both women’s indoor and outdoor track and field while Johnson earned the honor in baseball.

Van Dalen, hailing from Wanganui, New Zealand, was tabbed the 2012 America East Woman of the Year last month at the league’s Annual Meetings in Annapolis. The six-time All-American adds to her already impressive trophy case which includes five sport scholar-athlete awards, an NCAA Indoor One Mile National Championship trophy and multiple cross country and track America East gold medals. Van Dalen recently ran a personal best in the 1,500 meters which earned her an invite to the 2012 Olympic Games in London for her home country. The graduate student finished her master’s in liberal studies with a 4.00 GPA after receiving her undergraduate degree from Stony Brook in sociology with a 3.78 GPA.

Johnson, a back-to-back America East Baseball Scholar-Athlete, just completed an amazing run to the College World Series with his Seawolves’ baseball teammates after winning the 2012 America East Baseball Championship, NCAA Coral Gables Regional and Baton Rouge Super Regional. Johnson, a native of Chatsworth, California, earned America East Pitcher of the Year, NCAA Regional All-Tournament Team and multiple All-American honors along the way while also winning three NCAA games on the mound. He finished the season with 12 wins, second in the country, and set the Stony Brook program record for career wins. Finishing his undergraduate degree in history with a 3.70, Johnson captured CoSIDA second-team Academic All-America honors.

Other 2011-12 Scholar-Athletes included: Liam Paddock (UMBC) in men’s soccer, Angelina Cords (Boston University) in women’s soccer, Eric Speakman (Stony Brook) in men’s cross country, Hayley Green (Stony Brook) in women’s cross country, Marit Westenberg (Fairfield) in field hockey, Amy Keding (New Hampshire) in volleyball, Logan Aronhalt (Albany) in men’s basketball, Michelle Kurowski (UMBC) in women’s basketball, Andrew Eckhoff (UMBC) in men’s swimming & diving, Lauren McCandless (New Hampshire) in women’s swimming & diving, Adam Quinn (Binghamton) in men’s indoor track & field, Kyle Moeller (Stony Brook) in men’s lacrosse, Samantha Stern (Vermont) in women’s lacrosse, Emily Roesch (Boston University) in softball, Robb Quiller (Binghamton) in men’s outdoor track & field, Alexandre Haggai (Binghamton) in men’s tennis and Leonie-Charlotte Athanasiadis (Boston U.) in women’s tennis.

America East is proud to have one of the most comprehensive academic awards programs in the country. In addition to the Scholar-Athlete program, an All-Academic team comprised of student-athletes that excel both academically and athletically is chosen in each of the conference’s 20 sports by a committee consisting of faculty athletic representatives, academic advisors and sports information directors. Additionally, the conference recognizes all student-athletes who achieve at least a 3.0 GPA on its Academic Honor Roll, with those achieving a 3.5 average or better receiving Commissioner’s Honor Roll status. Finally, the Academic Cup is awarded to the school with the highest cumulative GPA among its student-athletes for that academic year.