Courtesy: America East Communications

Albany Captures 4th Straight Commissioner's Cup with Record Year

Release: 06/07/2016

BURLINGTON, Vt. — After winning eight of 18 America East championships, University at Albany has claimed the conference’s Stuart P. Haskell, Jr. Commissioner’s Cup for the fourth-straight year and fifth time in school history, the league announced this evening at its annual awards dinner in Burlington, Vt.

The Commissioner’s Cup annually recognizes the strongest athletic program in America East as determined by a scoring system which rewards a school for success both during the regular season and in championship competition in the conference’s 18 sports.

For just the second time in conference history every America East school won at least one conference championship. 

The Great Danes, which tied an America East record by winning eight league titles again, matched the conference's all-time record for Commissioner's Cup points in a single year, earning 443 and equaling Delaware's mark set in 1995-96. Stony Brook University came in second place for the fourth-straight year, earning 324 points, followed by Binghamton University (284 points) in third, UMBC (260) in fourth, University of New Hampshire (252) in fifth and University of Vermont (235) in sixth. University of Maine (212), University of Hartford (176) and UMass Lowell (130) rounded out the standings.

2015-16 Final Stuart P. Haskell, Jr. Commissioner’s Cup Standings
Rank    Team                 Points

1. Albany     443
2. Stony Brook   324
3. Binghamton   284
4. UMBC     260
5. New Hampshire   252
6. Vermont     235
7. Maine       212
8. Hartford     176
9. UMass Lowell   130


School Highlights

  • Won its fifth America East Commissioner’s Cup in program history (2004-05, 2012-13, 2013-14, 2014-15, 2015-16) with 443 points, tying Delaware (1996-97) for the most in conference history.
  • Matched the conference record by winning eight championships for the second-straight year.
  • Captured conference championships in field hockey, women's soccer, women’s basketball, men’s and women’s indoor track & field, men's and women's outdoor track & field and women's tennis.
  • Regular-season champions in field hockey, men's soccer, volleyball (co-champions), women’s basketball (co-champions) and men’s lacrosse.
  • Runners up in women's cross country, volleyball, women’s lacrosse and softball.

Stony Brook

  • Finished second for the fourth-straight year.
  • Swept the women's lacrosse regular-season and tournament titles for the fourth-straight year. 
  • Won its first-ever men's basketball championship and was also the regular-season champion.
  • Runners up in men’s cross country, women's tennis and baseball.


  • The Bearcats' third-place finish is their best in seven seasons.
  • Captured regular-season titles in both baseball and softball.
  • Won the baseball championship for the third time in four years.
  • Runners up in men's soccer and men's indoor track & field.


  • Won its second-straight women's swimming & diving title while setting a meet record for points.
  • Runners up in men's outdoor track & field.

New Hampshire

  • Captured its third-straight championship in women's cross country and volleyball.
  • Shared the volleyball regular-season title with Albany.
  • Finished runners up in three sports: women's swimming & diving, women's indoor track & field and women's outdoor track & field.


  • Became the first team since Stony Brook in 2011-12 to reach the men's soccer, men's basketball and men's lacrosse title games.
  • Won its first men's soccer championship since 2007.
  • Runners up in men's basketball. 


  • The Black Bears' Best finish since the 2010-11 season.
  • Won its first softball championship since 2004.
  • Co-regular-season champion in women's basketball for the second-straight year.


  • became the first No. 4 seed to win the men's lacrosse championship, its first since 2011 and second in program history.

UMass Lowell

  • Won its first America East title in any sport, capturing the men's cross country crown.
  • Was ineligible for team conference championships due to NCAA reclassifying rules.

The scoring system for the Stuart P. Haskell, Jr. Commissioner’s Cup is as follows: In sports where regular-season round robin competition is conducted, the first-place institution in the final standings receives four points times the total number of teams involved in conference play. The second-place institution receives four less points; third place receives eight less points, and so on. Additionally, the America East (tournament) champion receives two points times the total number of teams participating in the championship. The second-place institution receives two less points; third place receives four less points and so on down to the last-place institution which receives two points. 

In sports where regular-season round robin competition is not conducted (cross country, tennis, track & field, swimming & diving), the first-place institution at the America East championship receives two points times the total number of teams participating in the championship. The second-place institution receives two less points; third place gets four less points and so on down to the last place team which receives two points.

About America East: The America East provides its member schools and their athletic programs a platform upon which student-athletes can achieve both collegiate and life success through the promotion and nurturing of athletic excellence, academic achievement and leadership, on and off the field.