Courtesy: America East Communications

Stony Brook Men, UNH Women Crowned #AEXC Champions; Orach, Purrier Win Races

Release: 10/29/2016

KINGSVILLE, Md. – A brisk morning that began with a dew-covered course turned into a bright and sunny day for the America East Cross Country Championship, where the Stony Brook men and New Hampshire women captured the conference’s 2016 titles on Saturday. In two of the closest contests in conference history, the Seawolves edged second-place Maine by a mere point on the men’s side while the Wildcats finished two points ahead of Stony Brook in the women’s team standings.

Maine’s Jesse Orach won the men’s individual title by finishing the 8K course first in a time of 24:35.3. New Hampshire’s Elinor Purrier claimed the women’s race for the second time in three years while setting a new championship record in the process with her time of 16:27.1.

Team Results
1. Stony Brook        45 pts.
2. Maine                 46
3. Albany                87
4. New Hampshire  100
5. Vermont             114
6. UMass Lowell      139
7. Binghamton        189
8. UMBC                 194
9. Hartford              271

1. New Hampshire  45 pts.
2. Stony Brook       47
3. UMass Lowell      67
4. Vermont             89
5. UMBC                105
6. Albany               183
7. Binghamton       195
8. Maine                230
9. Hartford             242

Men’s Top -14 Finishers (All-Conference Team)
First Team
1. Jesse Orach, Maine 
2. Ryan Udvadia, Albany 
3. Cameron Avery, Stony Brook 
4. Thomas Teachen, UMass Lowell 
5. Kyle Gronostaj, Albany 
6. Daniel Connelly, Stony Brook 
7. Pat Coppinger, Vermont 
Second Team
8. Levi Frye, Maine 
9. Nick Cruz, Stony Brook
10. Chris Biondi, Stony Brook 
11. Aaron Willingham, Maine 
12. Jacob Johns, Maine 
13. Timothy Kenefick, New Hampshire 
14. Joshua Horne, Maine 

Women’s Top -14 Finishers (All-Conference Team)
First Team
1. Elinor Purrier, New Hampshire 
2. Christina Melian, Stony Brook
3. Christine Eisenberg, Stony Brook
4. Annika Sisson, Stony Brook 
5. Sophia Cologer, UMBC 
6. Margaret Champagne, New Hampshire 
7. Jaclyn Solimine, UMass Lowell 
Second Team
8. Autumn Albrecht, Vermont 
9. Hannah Kimball, New Hampshire 
10. Kathryn Loughnane, UMass Lowell 
11. Samantha Sayer, Vermont 
12. Alli Wood, UMass Lowell 
13. Melissa Menghini, New Hampshire 
14. Elizabeth Caldwell, Stony Brook 

Annual Awards

  • The Most Outstanding Rookie awards went to Cameron Avery of Stony Brook and Margaret Champagne of New Hampshire as they were the top rookie finishers.
  • The Stony Brook coaching staff, headed by Andy Ronan, was named Coaching Staff of the Year on the men’s side.
  • Robert Hoppler and his staff at New Hampshire were awarded Coaching Staff of the Year on the women’s side for the fourth-straight year.
  • The Elite 17 honor, which is awarded to the runners with the highest grade point average out of the top-ten finishers, was awarded to Orach for the men and Stony Brook’s Christina Melian, who placed second, for the women.

Need to Know

  • Stony Brook's men's title is its first since 2012 and second in program history.
  • The Seawolves' one-point margin of victory over Maine is the closest result since Albany and Boston University earned the same amount of points in 2011.
  • New Hampshire became the third America East school to capture four-straight women's championships (Stony Brook, Boston U.).
  • The Wildcats' two-point margin of victory over Stony Brook was the fewest since 1991.
  • It's the fifth time a Maine student-athlete has won the men's individual title and the first time since 2011.
  • Purrier broke fellow Wildcat Keely Maguire's meet record that was set in 2012.
  • She is just the fourth runner to win the women's individual title twice and first since 2008.