Courtesy: America East Communications

5 #AEWLAX Student-Athletes Named IWLCA All-Americans

Release: 05/17/2017

Five America East women's lacrosse standouts were named Intercollegiate Women's Lacrosse Coaches' Association (IWLCA) All-Americans, the organization announced Wednesday. A total of 48 student-athletes were honored on the Division I level across three teams.

Stony Brook junior attacker Kylie Ohlmiller, junior defender Brooke Gubitosi and Albany senior midfielder Sarah Martin were all first team honorees while Stony Brook freshman attacker Taryn Ohlmiller and senior midfielder Dorrien Van Dyke were named to the third team. The five selections are the most in league history. 

Kylie Ohlmiller, one of five Tewaaraton finalists, already broke the NCAA single-season points record with 157 entering this weekend, breaking the previous record of 148 that was set back in 2001. The America East Offensive Player of the Year has 75 goals and a league-record 82 assists.

The America East Defensive Player of the Year, Gubitosi broke the America East single-season record with 52 caused turnovers. She has anchored a Stony Brook defense that leads the nation with a 7.00 goals against average entering the NCAA quarterfinals.

Martin won the inaugural America East Midfielder of the Year honor after ranking second in the nation with 6.00 points per game. Her 102 total points are tied for the third-most in a single season in conference history. She led Albany to an at-large bid in the NCAA tournament for the second time in the last three seasons. 

Taryn Ohlmiller, the America East Rookie of the Year, leads all freshmen in the nation with 98 points this season. Taryn, joining her sister Kylie as an All-American, has 62 goals and 36 assists on the year. 

One of 25 student-athletes to be a Tewaaraton nominee, Van Dyke has been one of the top midfielders in the nation since she stepped on campus at Stony Brook. The senior has 51 goals and 17 assists on the year.

Stony Brook will play in the NCAA quarterfinals on Saturday at noon against Maryland.