2008 Swimming And Diving All-Academic Teams Announced

Release: 03/05/2008
Courtesy: America East Communications

CAMBRIDGE, Mass.-- The America East named 27 student-athletes as members of the 2008 Swimming and Diving All-Academic Team. The honor recognizes those named for their athletic and their academic achievements.

The 2008 outstanding male diver, Boston U.'s Andre Watson (Hempstead, N.Y./Rutgers), swimmer, Binghamton's Brandan Varanda (St. Petersburg, Fla./Northeast High), as well as the outstanding female diver, Boston U.'s Tess Waresmith (Dover, Mass./Miami), highlight this year's all-academic team. The female senior honored at the conference championship for accumulating the most points in her four-year career, New Hampshire's Kary Goodman (South Windham, Maine/Catherine McAuley) is also a member of the academic squad.

Joining Waresmith and Goodman on the women's team is Boston U.'s Emily Munday (Butte, Mon./Butte), Christina Ruggiero (Wilmington Del./St. Mark's), Brigette O'Shaugnessy (Carlsbad, Calif./Carlsbad), UMBC's Tereza Kaplanova (Prague, Czech Republic/Gymnazium J.G. Jankovskeho), Lindsay Sherman (Bethany, Conn./Amity), Daniele Surkovich (Ellicott City, Md./Wilde Lake), Tina Cantwell (Sinking Spring, Pa./The Hill School), Carly Fitzpatrick (Delran, N.J./Delran), New Hampshire's Evelyn Yuen (Princeton, N.J.West-Windsor Plainsboro H.S. South), Deanna Petchonka (Ridgefield, Conn.Ridgefield), Christine Tartaglia (Brewster, N.Y.), and Vermont's Molly MacMillan (Doylestown, PA /Central Bucks West).

Recognized on the men's team alongside Watson and Varanda was Binghamton's Sean Lorenz (Norwich, N.Y./Norwich), Brian Koralewski (Floral Park, N.Y./Chaminade HS), Boston U.'s Eric Carlson (Atlanta, Ga./Daviess Co. (Ky.)), UMBC's Rasmus Kutt (Tallinn, Estonia/Gustav Adolf Gymnasium), Zach Vonder Haar(Gahanna, Ohio/Columbus Academy), PJ Sterba (Frederick, Md./Gov. Thomas Johnson), Scott Auchter (Wernersville, Pa./Wilson), Milos Djukic (Novi Sad, Serbia & Montenegro/Svetozar Markovic), Matt Mattingly (Cherry Hill, N.J./Cherry Hill West), Stony Brook's Omer Ozcan (Brooklyn, N.Y./James Madison) and Alexander Kissel (Amityville, N.Y./St. John the Baptist).

The 2008 America East Champion men's and women's UMBC teams led all member schools, sending a combined 11 student-athletes to the all-academic team.

Each All-Academic Team has been selected based on the student-athlete’s academic and athletic accomplishments. Academic achievement for consideration requires student-athletes to have a minimum cumulative grade-point average of 3.00 entering the season. Athletic accomplishment standards vary between team sports and individual sports. For swimming & diving, student-athletes are required to be a top-three finisher at the conference championship meet. Team size for individual sports is determined by the number of all-conference honorees who possess the minimum academic requirement. Freshman are not eligible for the All-Academic Team.

Men's All-Academic Team

Name, School, GPA
Sean Lorenz, Binghamton, 3.50
Brenno Varanda, Binghamton, 3.47
Brian Koralewski, Binghamton, 3.20
Andre Watson, Boston U., 3.23
Eric Carlson, Boston U., 3.13
Rasmus Kutt, UMBC, 3.57
Zach Vonder Haar, UMBC, 3.54
PJ Sterba, UMBC, 3.47
Scott Auchter, UMBC, 3.3
Milos Djukic, UMBC, 3.3
Matt Mattingly, UMBC, 3.07
Omer Ozcan, Stony Brook, 3.09
Alexander Kissel, Stony Brook, 3.06

Women's All-Academic Team
Name, School, GPA
Emily Munday, Boston U, 3.43
Tess Waresmith, Boston U., 3.33
Christina Ruggiero, Boston U., 3.30
Brigette O'Shaughnessy, Boston U., 3.25
Tereza Kaplanova, UMBC, 4.0
Lindsay Sherman, UMBC, 3.6
Daniele Surkovich, UMBC, 3.49
Tina Cantwell, UMBC, 3.43
Carly Fitzpatrick, UMBC, 3.31
Evelyn Yuen, New Hampshire, 3.92
Deanna Petchonka, New Hampshire, 3.55
Christine Tartaglia, New Hampshire, 3.48
Kary Goodman, New Hampshire, 3.28
Molly MacMillan, Vermont, 3.61