Repeat Winners Vloedgraven and Nunic Highlight Tennis All-Conference Squads

Release: 05/06/2010
Courtesy: America East Communications

CAMBRIDGE, Mass. – Binghamton University junior Sven Vloedgraven (Lochem, Netherlands/Isendoorn College) and Boston University sophomore Stefanie Nunic (New York, N.Y./Broward Virtual Education) helped their respective squads defend their tennis dynasties and each earned their second straight America East Player of the Year honors. The annual award winners were determined in a vote by the league’s head coaches and announced Thursday morning.

Vloedgraven, a first-team all-conference selection for the third straight year, led the Bearcats to their third consecutive league title. He has been the top ranked player in the Northeast region all season and entered the national rankings this week. Vloedgraven enters the NCAA Men’s Tennis Team Championship with a singles record of 23-3 at the No. 1 spot.

Nunic, who claimed both the 2009 Rookie of the Year and Player of the Year awards, paced the Terrier women to their 17th consecutive crown and 12th NCAA tournament berth. She was also tabbed a first-team all-conference selection for the second straight year.

Binghamton, which is currently ranked 47th in the nation, swept the rest of the men’s tennis awards. Freshman Ruben Devos (Keerbergen, Belgium/Sint-Rombouts College) captured the Rookie of the Year award, while Adam Cohen and his staff were tabbed the league’s Coaching Staff of the Year.

Devos, a first-team all-conference selection, compiled a regular-season singles record of 19-8 and helped the Bearcats achieve a program-record 23 regular-season wins.

Cohen, who is in his fourth season at Binghamton, led his program to a 25-1 record, their sixth conference title in eight years and its highest national ranking in school history (43).

On the women’s side, Stony Brook freshman Nini Lagvilava (Tbilisi, Georgia/Number 29) claimed the league’s Rookie of the Year award while Binghamton, coached by Mike Stevens, garnered Coaching Staff of the Year accolades.

Lagvilava went 8-1 at No. 1 singles over the regular season and compiled an overall record of 17-2 in her rookie campaign with the Seawolves. She led the squad to a regular-season record of 16-4.

Stevens’ Bearcat squad captured the No. 1 seed in the conference tournament for the first time in program history. He coached his team to a regular-season record of 14-2 and a runner-up finish at the league championship for the third-straight season.



Singles First Team All-Conference

#1 Stefanie Nunic, Boston U.
#2 Anna Edelman, Binghamton
#3 Lorena Valente, UMBC
#4 Petra Santini, Boston U.
#5 Aylin Mehter, Stony Brook
#6 Jessi Linero, Boston U.
Singles Second Team All-Conference

#1 Lauren Bates, Binghamton
#2 Carmen Jackman, UMBC
#3 Jillian Santos, Binghamton
#4 Yulia Smirnova, Binghamton
#5 Heidi Danielsson, UMBC
#6 Emma Leibowicz, Binghamton

Doubles First Team All-Conference
#1 Anna Edelman/Marina Bykovskaya, Binghamton
#2 Lauren Bates/Emma Leibowicz, Binghamton
#3 Jillian Santos/Yulia Smirnova, Binghamton
Doubles Second Team All-Conference
#1 Alice Chen/Heidi Danielsson, UMBC
#2 Carmen Jackman/Emily Mannix, UMBC
#3 Lorena Valente/Barbara Couto, UMBC

Player of the Year

Stefanie Nunic, Boston University

Rookie of the Year
Nini Lagvilava, Stony Brook

Coaching Staff of Year



Singles First Team All-Conference

#1 Sven Vloedgraven, Binghamton
#2 Moshe Levy, Binghamton
#3 Gilbert Wong, Binghamton
#4 Alexandre Haggai, Binghamton
#5 Arnav Jain, Binghamton
#6 Ruben Devos, Binghamton
Singles Second Team All-Conference
#1 Ivan Rummel, Stony Brook
#2 Fredi Voorman, UMBC
#3 Adam Duprat, UMBC
#4 Gaulthier Berret, UMBC
#5 Mitch Wong, Stony Brook
#6 Ilan Shvartz, Stony Brook
Doubles First Team All-Conference
#1 Sven Vloedgraven/Gilbert Wong, Binghamton
#2 Moshe Levy/Alexandre Haggai, Binghamton
#3 Mwali Phiri/Joe Adewumi, UMBC
Doubles Second Team All-Conference
#1 Jon Epstein/Halvar Dil, Stony Brook
#2 Adam Duprat/Gaulthier Berret, UMBC
#3 Bastian Bornkessel/Ruben Devos, Binghamton

Player of the Year
Sven Vloedgraven, Binghamton

Rookie of the Year
Ruben Devos, Binghamton

Coaching Staff of Year