Kotsopoulos, Vloedgraven Tabbed Scholar-Athletes of the Year

Release: 07/29/2010
Binghamton's Sven Vloedgraven (left) is the first men's tennis Scholar-Athlete to earn the top honor since 1998 while May Kotsopoulos (right) is the first women's basketball standout to win the award since 2000.
Binghamton's Sven Vloedgraven (left) is the first men's tennis Scholar-Athlete to earn the top honor since 1998 while May Kotsopoulos (right) is the first women's basketball standout to win the award since 2000.
Courtesy: America East Communications

CAMBRIDGE, Mass. — America East named a pair of standout student-athletes from record-setting teams the conference’s 2009-10 Scholar-Athletes of the Year on Thursday. University of Vermont’s May Kotsopoulos (Waterloo, Ontario), a women’s basketball all-star, is the female recipient and Binghamton University’s Sven Vloedgraven (Lochem, Netherlands), the top men’s tennis player for the Bearcats, is the male honoree. Kotsopoulos and Vloedgraven were chosen from a group of 18 student-athletes who were tabbed Scholar-Athletes in their respective sports.

Kotsopoulos, who graduated with a 3.66 grade-point average in business administration, earned her third consecutive women’s basketball Scholar-Athlete honor after pacing America East in scoring with 17.1 points per game. She earned All-Conference First-Team honors, the Fans’ Choice Player of the Year Award and also earned All-Defensive Team honors for the fourth-straight year. Kotsopoulos led Vermont to its second straight America East Championship and the program’s first-ever victory in the NCAA Tournament, a first-round upset win over seventh-seeded Wisconsin. The guard out of Ontario, Canada was named  an ESPN The Magazine/CoSIDA Academic All-American this season and was an Academic All-District I First Team selection each of the last two years.

Vloedgraven, who completed his junior year with a 3.90 GPA in accounting, was tabbed the men’s tennis Scholar-Athlete for the second straight season. He garnered America East Player of the Year honors for the second consecutive year and became the league’s first tennis player to qualify for the NCAA singles tournament in 2010. The 115th-ranked player in the country, Vloedgraven led Binghamton to a school-record 25 wins, its third straight conference crown, an NCAA berth and a No. 47 national ranking. He was named to CoSIDA’s Academic All-District At-Large team and earned America East All-Academic honors for the second time.

Kotsopoulos is the second straight Vermont student-athlete to earn the female Scholar-Athlete of the Year award after Kristen Millar (lacrosse) took home the honor last year. She is also the first women’s basketball player to win the award since fellow Catamount Karalyn Church did so in 2000. Vloedgraven’s selection gives Binghamton three of the last four male Scholar-Athletes after Rory Quiller won in both 2007 and 2008. Vloedgraven is the first tennis player to receive the honor since 1998.

Other 2009-10 Scholar-Athletes included: Colin O’Donnell (New Hampshire) in men’s soccer, Emily Pallotta (Boston University) in women’s soccer, Alex Felce (Stony Brook) in men’s cross country, Holly Van Dalen (Stony Brook) in women’s cross country and women’s outdoor track & field, Kristen Heavens (Vermont) in field hockey, Valerie Sourbeer (Albany) in volleyball, Andrew Goba (Stony Brook) in men’s basketball, Bryon Kallert (UMBC) in men’s swimming & diving, Emily Munday (Boston University) in women’s swimming & diving, Valete Graham (Albany) in men’s indoor and outdoor track & field, Fey Adaramola (Albany) in women’s indoor track & field, Kevin Crowley (Stony Brook) in men’s lacrosse, Olivia Jarem (Albany) in women’s lacrosse, Tyler Johnson (Stony Brook) in baseball, Alyssa Struzenberg (Stony Brook) in softball and Alice Chen (UMBC) in women’s tennis.

America East is proud to have one of the most comprehensive academic awards programs in the country. In addition to the Scholar-Athlete program, an All-Academic team comprised of student-athletes that excel both academically and athletically is chosen in each of the conference’s 20 sports by a committee consisting of faculty athletic representatives, academic advisors and sports information directors. Additionally, the conference recognizes all student-athletes who achieve at least a 3.0 GPA on its Academic Honor Roll, with those achieving a 3.5 average or better receiving Commissioner’s Honor Roll status. Finally, the Academic Cup is awarded to the school with the highest cumulative GPA among its student-athletes for that academic year.