Article Image
The nine Woman of the Year nominees will be narrowed down to three, and eventually one, who will then be forwarded on for consideration for the NCAA Woman of the Year.
Courtesy: America East Communications

Nine Senior Student-Athletes Named Woman of the Year Nominees

Release: 05/10/2011
Files available Send this article to a friend Print RSS
CAMBRIDGE, Mass. — Nine institutional nominees for the 2011 America East Woman of the Year award have been announced by the conference office. University at Albany’s Nikki Branchini (women’s lacrosse), Binghamton University’s Michelle McDonough (volleyball), Boston University’s April Setterlund (softball), University of Hartford’s Mary Silvia (women’s basketball), University of Maine’s Maire Dineen (field hockey), UMBC’s Meghan Colabella (women’s basketball), University of New Hampshire’s Rita Ciambra (track and field), Stony Brook University’s Deb Aller (women’s soccer) and University of Vermont’s Megan MacDonald (women’s lacrosse) have been chosen as the senior female student-athletes on their respective campuses that best exemplified a commitment to service, leadership, athletics and academics during their collegiate careers.

To be nominated, student-athletes must have completed intercollegiate eligibility in her primary sport by the end of the 2011 spring season or received her undergraduate degree prior to the conclusion of the summer 2011 term and have a minimum cumulative grade-point average of 2.500 (4.000 scale).

In conjunction with the changes in the nomination process for the NCAA Woman of the Year award, the America East Woman of the Year award was established for the 2005-06 athletic season. Beginning in 2006, the NCAA Committee on Women’s Athletics (CWA) started receiving conference-designated nominees in lieu of the previous institution- and state-based nomination format.

The nominees will be narrowed down to three finalists on Wednesday, May 25 via a release on the conference web site with the America East Woman of the Year being announced at the conference’s Annual Meeting in Portsmouth, N.H. on Tuesday, June 7.

The America East Woman of the Year will then be forwarded to the NCAA Woman of the Year selection committee. The selection committee will select the top 10 winners in each NCAA division (I, II and III). From among those 30 honorees, the selection committee will determine the top three in each division. Finally, the members of the CWA will vote from among the top nine to determine the 2010 NCAA Woman of the Year.

2011 Institutional Woman of the Year Nominees
Nominee                     School                   Sport

Nikki Branchini               Albany                   Women’s Lacrosse
Michelle McDonough      Binghamton           Volleyball
April Setterlund              Boston U.              Softball
Mary Silvia                     Hartford                 Women’s Basketball
Maire Dineen                 Maine                     Field Hockey
Meghan Colabella          UMBC                     Women’s Basketball
Rita Ciambra                 New Hampshire       Track & Field
Deb Aller                       Stony Brook           Women’s Soccer
Megan MacDonald        Vermont                  Women’s Lacrosse

Year-by-Year America East Woman of the Year Honorees
2010    Emily Pallotta, Boston U. (Women’s Soccer)
2009    Kristen Millar, Vermont (Women’s Lacrosse)
2008    Sarah Hudak, Boston U. (Field Hockey)
2007    Marisa Ryan, Boston U. (Cross Country/Track & Field)
2006    Ashlee Reed, Albany (Volleyball)
July 23, 2015
July 23, 2015
July 23, 2015
M Basketball
July 23, 2015
M Basketball
AMI Graphics
The Rock
Levy Marketing & Awards
Under Armour