From L-R: Brandon McNitt, Nick Tropeano, William Carmona, Matt Senk.
From L-R: Brandon McNitt, Nick Tropeano, William Carmona, Matt Senk.
Courtesy: America East Communications

Regular-Season Champion Stony Brook Sweeps Individual Awards

Release: 05/24/2011
CAMBRIDGE, Mass. — After claiming the program’s first-ever America East Baseball Regular-Season Championship, Stony Brook University cleaned up the individual year-end hardware. Designated hitter sophomore William Carmona (Hempstead, N.Y./Hempstead), the 2010 Rookie of the Year, earned the 2011 Len Harlow Player of the Year Award, while teammate junior Nick Tropeano (West Islip, N.Y./West Islip) claimed Pitcher of the Year honors a year after earning the Co-Pitcher of the Year award. Freshman pitcher Brandon McNitt (Chino Hills, Calif./Bishop Amat) became the second straight Seawolf to garner Rookie of the Year status, and Stony Brook Head Coach Matt Senk picked up his first career Coach of the Year accolade.

Carmona’s momentum from his stellar rookie campaign carried over to the 2011 season, both at the plate and on the mound. Primarily a designated hitter, the 6-0, 225-lb Carmona led America East in batting average (.360), slugging percentage (.597), hits (76), doubles (26) and total bases (126), while ranking in the top three in runs (47), RBIs (41) and home runs (6). He also came in to pitch in relief, making 11 appearances, picking up four saves, earning a 1-0 record and compiling a 1.76 ERA. Carmona becomes the first Seawolf to pick up this honor.

Topeano has been lights out during his junior campaign, earning all-conference honors for the third straight year and first-team all-conference for the second consecutive season. As the Seawolves’ number one in the rotation, he recorded an 11-1 mark, with his only loss coming to nationally-ranked North Carolina on March 4. Tropeano, a 6-4, 205-lb right-hander, led the league in strikeouts, punching out 107 batters in 85.0 innings and five times reaching double-digit strikeouts. He is third in America East with a 1.91 ERA and opponents are hitting just .189 against him. Tropeano is the first player in league history to repeat as Pitcher of the Year.

McNitt, a California native at 5-10, 170 lb, was a regular in the Stony Brook pitching rotation during the conference season, going 6-1 with a 2.11 ERA against America East foes. Overall, the rookie finished second in the conference with a 1.73 ERA and a 7-2 record, throwing two complete games with three saves.  McNitt was part of three shutouts this season and ended the regular season second on the team with 73.0 innings pitched over 15 appearances and nine starts.

Senk is in his 21st season with the Seawolves, earning his first America East Coach of the Year award in 2011. His Seawolves garnered the program’s first regular-season championship and tied the all-time conference record with 22 America East wins. Senk led Stony Brook to a 41-10 regular-season record, the first America East team to reach the 40-win plateau since the 2002 Black Bears. Stony Brook has won 11 straight and 22 of its last 23 games, and will host the upcoming America East Baseball Championship as the top seed.

Stony Brook also had a league-high 10 all-conference selections, including eight first-team picks. University of Maine picked up eight honorees and Binghamton University sent seven players to all-conference teams.

Fellow Seawolf Tyler Johnson, also a junior, joins Tropeano as a starting pitcher on the all-conference first team for the second consecutive year. Binghamton’s Mike Augliera (Old Bridge, N.J./Old Bridge), Maine’s Keith Bilodeau (Bourne, Mass./Bourne) and Bearcat relief pitcher Zach Juliano (Overland Park, Kan./Fort Scott CC) round out the first-team pitchers. Stony Brook catcher Pat Cantwell (West Islip, N.Y./West Islip), second baseman Maxx Tissenbaum (Toronto, Ontario/York Mills Collegiate), shortstop Chad Marshall (Paris, Ontario/Paris District) and third baseman Steve Marino (Lake Grove, N.Y./Centereach), along with Binghamton first baseman Dave Ciocchi (Hopewell Junction, N.Y./John Jay) make up the first-team infield. Peter Bregartner (East Islip, N.Y./East Islip) of Binghamton, Joey Martin (Portland, Maine/Portland) of Maine and Travis Jankowski (Lancaster, Pa./Lancaster Catholic) of Stony Brook received first-team recognition as outfielders, while Carmona is the first-team designated hitter.

McNitt is a second-team starting pitcher, joined by University at Albany’s Dave Kubiak (Southhold, N.Y./Southhold), Binghamton’s Jay Lynch (Exton, Pa./West Chester East), and Maine’s Jeff Gibbs (Toronto, Ontario/Birchmount Park). Gibb’s teammate, freshman Shaun Coughlin (Northfield, Conn./Xavier), is the relief pitcher, and Binghamton’s C.J. Lukaszewski (Kingston, N.Y./Kingston) is the catcher. The entire Maine infield earned second team honors with Justin Leisenheimer (Middle Village, N.Y./Holy Cross) at first base, Troy Black (Mississauga, Ontario/Philip Pocock) at second base, Mike Fransoso (Portsmouth, N.H./Portsmouth) at shortstop and Alex Calbick (Burnaby, British Columbia/Burnaby) at third base. Albany’s Nolan Gaige (East Greenbush, N.Y./Columbia), Binghamton’s Corey Taylor (Vestal, N.Y./Vestal), and Stony Brook’s Tanner Nivins (Kitchener, Ontario/St. Mary’s) are the second-team outfield selections. UMBC’s designated hitter Max Himmelstein (Moorestown, N.J./Moorestown) rounds out the all-conference second team.

McNitt, Black, and Calbick are also all-rookie selections. The all-rookie team, chosen regardless of position, also includes Albany’s Josh Nethaway (Fonda, N.Y./Fonda-Fultonville), Binghamton’s John Howell (Liverpool, N.Y./Cicero-North Syracuse), and Bill Bereszniewicz (Sudbury, Mass./Lincoln-Sudbury), University of Hartford’s Ryan Lukach (Hillsborough, N.J./Hillsborough), Brian Hunter (Port Jeff Station, N.Y./St. John the Baptist) and Kevin Veilleux (Manchester, N.H./Manchester Central), Maine’s Fran Whitten (Westborough, Mass./Westborough), UMBC’s Rob McCabe (Philadelphia, Pa./St. Joseph’s) and D.J. Ream (Columbia, Pa./Hempfield), and Stony Brook’s Kevin Courtney (Lindenhurst, N.Y./St. John the Baptist).
The 2011 America East Baseball Championship gets underway on Wednesday, May 25 at 11 a.m. and will conclude on Friday, May 27, with Saturday, May 28 available in case of weather or a seventh game. The tournament champion will receive an automatic berth to the NCAA Championship.