Stony Brook's Kristal Conklin and Albany's Aliaksandr Leuchanka have both earned All-Academic honors for the third time.
Stony Brook's Kristal Conklin and Albany's Aliaksandr Leuchanka have both earned All-Academic honors for the third time.
Courtesy: America East Communications

Twenty-Five Student-Athletes Named to Cross Country All-Academic Team

Release: 11/13/2012
CAMBRIDGE, Mass. – Twenty-five cross country student-athletes have been recognized for their excellence in the classroom today, as the conference has announced the 2012 America East All-Academic Team. Twelve women and thirteen men have been chosen based on both academic and athletic excellence.

Six repeat members and four All-Conference performers highlight the women’s team. Maine’s Corey Conner and Stony Brook’s Kristal Conklin have each been selected to the All-Academic squad for the third-time in their careers. Other repeat harriers include Albany’s Kathryn Fanning, New Hampshire’s Darcy James, Stony Brook’s Olivia Burne and Vermont’s Kirsten Weberg. Wildcat runners Lorraine McCarthy and Anne Twombly join Burne and Weberg as All-Conference members who have earned the All-Academic billing in 2012.

Rounding out the list are four first-time selections: Albany’s Nicole Gillette, Binghamton’s Rachel Miura, Hartford’s Megan Barry and UMBC’s Kirsten McGovern.

The men’s All-Academic squad boasts six All-Conference performers and four repeat selections. Highlighting the repeats is Albany’s Aliaksandr Leuchanka, who has now been recognized for his efforts in the classroom for the third consecutive year. Other repeat recipients include this year’s individual champion from Stony Brook, Eric Speakman, as well as two other All-Conference performers in Maine’s Kelton Cullenberg and Vermont’s Ethan McBrien.

Other All-Conference harriers to be recognized are Hartford’s Andrew Dwyer and UMBC’s Brandon McGee.

Seven first-time recipients comprise the rest of the men’s squad: Albany’s Craig Weiss, Boston U.’s Michael Caputo, Hartford’s John Busque and Robert Giuliani, UMBC’s Vinny DiSalvo and Eric Schuler and New Hampshire’s Joseph Jourdain. 

The All-Academic squads are a product of the June 2005 Athletics Directors meeting where faculty representatives and athletics directors from each of the conference’s nine member institutions decided to honor the league’s top student-athletes, who excel equally in the classroom as they do on the playing field.  

For the fourth straight year, America East will select the All-Academic teams using CoSIDA’s Academic All-America program as a model. Student-athletes worthy of consideration are nominated by member sports information directors and voted on by a committee of SIDs, academic advisors and faculty representatives from all nine member institutions.

All-Academic squads for team sports are based on the number of athletes that participate in a contest at one time or are made up of 10 student-athletes for individual sports. To be nominated for the distinction, student-athletes must be a starter or important reserve for their team and participate in at least 50 percent of their team’s games or competitions. In the classroom, student-athletes must have a 3.30 GPA and have completed at least one calendar year at their institution. Freshmen are not eligible for consideration.

Full Men's and Women's All-Academic Teams: