11 Nominees Announced For Woman of the Year Award

Release: 05/05/2009
Binghamton's Ashley Allen
Binghamton's Ashley Allen
Courtesy: America East Communications
CAMBRIDGE, Mass. The institutional nominees for the 2009 America East Woman of the Year award have been announced by the conference office. University at Albany’s Jennifer Gurrant (track & field) and Ashley Ross (field hockey/lacrosse), Binghamton University’s Ashley Allen (volleyball), Boston University’s Christy Leath (softball) and Marisha Schumacher-Hodge (soccer), Hartford’s Kacey Busque (soccer), University of Maine’s Ashley Waters (softball), UMBC’s Cornelia Carapcea (tennis), University of New Hampshire’s Michaela Hardy (lacrosse), Stony Brook’s Kaitlin Leggio (lacrosse) and University of Vermont’s Kristen Millar (lacrosse) have been chosen as the senior female student-athletes on their respective campuses that best exemplified a commitment to service, leadership, athletics and academics during their collegiate careers.

To be nominated, student-athletes must have completed intercollegiate eligibility in her primary sport by the end of the 2009 spring season or received her undergraduate degree prior to the conclusion of the summer 2009 term and have a minimum cumulative grade-point average of 2.500 (4.000 scale).

In conjunction with the changes in the nomination process for the NCAA Woman of the Year award, the America East Woman of the Year award was established for the 2005-06 athletic season. Beginning in 2006, the NCAA Committee on Women’s Athletics (CWA) started receiving conference-designated nominees in lieu of the previous institution- and state-based nomination format.

The nominees will be narrowed down to three finalists on Wednesday, May 27 via a release on the conference web site with the America East Woman of the Year being announced at the conference’s Annual Meeting in Burlington, Vermont on Tuesday, June 9.

The America East Woman of the Year will then be forwarded to the NCAA Woman of the Year selection committee. The selection committee will select the top 10 winners in each NCAA division (I, II and III). From among those 30 honorees, the selection committee will determine the top three in each division. Finally, the members of the CWA will vote from among the top nine to determine the 2009 NCAA Woman of the Year.