Spring Student-Athletes Receive All-Academic Accolades

Release: 05/08/2008
Courtesy: America East Communications

CAMBRIDGE, Mass. America East student-athletes have been named to the All-Academic teams in the sports of tennis, golf and outdoor track and field. These 48 student-athletes have been honored for their achievements athletically and academically. The awards were announced on Thursday, May 8.

America East Player of the Year Francine Whu leads the honorees in women’s tennis. She is joined by teammates Danielle Abraham and Cori Lefkowith. Rounding out the team is Binghamton’s Danielle Shapiro and Stony Brook’s Paola Rodolfi and Sandy Wijeratne.

First-team all-conference selections Moshe Levy and Faisal Mohamed from Binghamton and
Ilan Shvartz of Stony Brook highlight the men’s tennis All-Academic team. UMBC’s Chris Meyer and Fredi Voorman, as well as Stony Brook’s Ivan Rummel round out the squad.

Five golf athletes who medaled at the America East Championship last weekend in Simsbury, Conn. were recognized for their work in the classroom. Albany’s Jessica Signorelli, Boston University’s Allison Hamilton and Hartford’s Juliana Carrillo, Megan Claxton and Kara Sikorski were all named to the All-Academic team.

Boston University, which captured the women’s crown at the 2008 America East Outdoor Track & Field Championship, is represented by a league-best four all-academic team selections. All of the all-academic honorees were medalists at this year’s championship. The Terrier selections include Jessica Cickay, Erin Lagasse and Katie Weider. Albany’s Laura Cummings and Arina Gerasimova, Binghamton’s Kiki Gifft and Keisha Short, Maine Lindsay Burlock and Allyson Howatt, New Hampshire’s Rita Ciambra, Kiah Quarles and Amy Roccio, Stony Brook’s Dana Hastie and Vermont’s Corinne DiPietro and Carmen Lagala were also chosen to the squad.

Albany, which took home its fourth straight America East Outdoor Track & Field Championship, tied for the most athletes honored on the all-academic sqaud along with Stony Brook. All of the all-academic honorees were medalists at this year’s championship. The Great Danes’ honorees include Nicholas Assini, Renauld Buck and Valete Graham, while Alex Felce, Tim Hodge and Muhammad Mubaarak were lauded for the Seawolves. Binghamton’s Junior Obionwu, Maine’s Miles Bartlett and Daniel Poirer, UMBC’s Dominic Devaud and James Mildenderger, New Hampshire’s Wesley Dinnan and Jordan Horowitz and Vermont’s Phil Cohen and David Hanss were also recognized.

Each All-Academic Team has been selected based on the student-athlete’s academic and athletic accomplishments. Academic achievement for consideration requires student-athletes to have a minimum cumulative grade-point average of 3.00 entering the season. Athletic accomplishment standards vary between team sports and individual sports. For track & field, student-athletes are required to be a top-three finisher at the conference championship meet. Team size for individual sports is determined by the number of all-conference honorees who possess the minimum academic requirement. Freshman are not eligible for the All-Academic Team.

Men's Tennis All-Academic Team
Moshe Levy, Binghamton
Faisal Mohamed, Binghamton
Chris Meyer, UMBC
Fredi Voorman, UMBC
Ivan Rummel, Stony Brook
Ilan Shvartz, Stony Brook

Women's Tennis All-Academic Team
Danielle Shapiro, Binghamton
Danielle Abraham, Boston University
Cori Lefkowith, Boston University
Francine Whu, Boston Univeristy
Paola Rodolfi, Stony Brook
Sandy Wijeratne, Stony Brook

Golf All-Academic Team
Jessica Signorelli, Albany
Allison Hamilton, Boston University
Juliana Carrillo, Hartford
Megan Claxton, Hartford
Kara Sikorski, Hartford

Men's Track & Field All-Academic Team
Nicholas Assini, Albany
Renauld Buck, Albany
Valete Graham, Albany
Junior Obionwu, Binghamton
Miles Bartlett, Maine
Daniel Poirier, Maine
Dominic Devaud, UMBC
James Mildenberger, UMBC
Wesley Dinnan, New Hampshire
Jordan Horwitz, New Hampshire
Alex Felce, Stony Brook
Tim Hodge, Stony Brook
Muhammad Mubaarak, Stony Brook
Phil Cohen, Vermont
David Hanss, Vermont

Women's Track & Field All-Academic Team
Laura Cummings, Albany
Arina Gerasimova, Albany
Kiki Gifft, Binghamton
Keisha Short, Binghamton
Jessica Cickay, Boston University
Erin Lagasse, Boston University
Katie Weider, Boston University
Anne Wighton, Boston University
Lindsay Burlock, Maine
Allyson Howatt, Maine
Rita Ciambra, New Hampshire
Kiah Quarles, New Hampshire
Amy Roccio, New Hampshire
Dana Hastie, Stony Brook
Corinne DiPietro, Vermont
Carmen Lagala, Vermont