Vermont senior Samantha Stern is the only three-time member on this year's women's lacrosse all-academic team.
Vermont senior Samantha Stern is the only three-time member on this year's women's lacrosse all-academic team.
Courtesy: America East Communications

Women's Lacrosse All-Academic Team Announced

Release: 05/02/2012
CAMBRIDGE, MASS. -- Twelve women’s lacrosse student-athletes, including six repeat selections, have been tabbed to the 2012 America East Women’s Lacrosse All-Academic Team for their excellence both on the field and in the classroom.

Five members of the all-academic team are also all-conference selections, including first-team all-conference junior Melissa Rotante of Stony Brook University. University at Albany juniors Jess Antelmi, Rachael Burek, Boston University senior Molly Swain and University of Vermont senior Samantha Stern are all members of the second team.

Stern, Burek, Binghamton University junior Katherine Hunsberger and Albany graduate student Mel Rorie were unanimous selections. Rounding out the team are University of New Hampshire sophomore Jamie DePetris, Boston U. sophomore Sydney Godett, Vermont senior Allison Pfohl, and UNH junior Jenny Simpson.

Stern is a three-time member of the squad having been named to the team in 2010 and 2011. Rorie was selected in 2010, while Pollock, Burek, Simpson and Swain were all members of last year’s all-academic team.

The All-Academic teams are a product of the June 2005 Athletics Directors meeting where faculty representatives and athletics directors from each of the conference’s nine member institutions decided to honor the league’s top student-athletes, who excel equally in the classroom as they do on the playing field.

For the fourth straight year, the America East All-Academic teams were chosen using CoSIDA’s Academic All-America program as a model. Student-athletes worthy of consideration are nominated by member sports information directors and voted on by a committee of SIDs, academic advisors and faculty representatives from all nine member institutions.

All-Academic squads for team sports are based on the number of athletes that participate in a contest at one time (example: women’s lacrosse can have 12 players on the field) or are made up of 10 student-athletes for individual sports. There may be more student-athletes recognized if a tie exists. To be nominated for the distinction, student-athletes must be a starter or important reserve for their team and participate in at least 50 percent of their team’s games or competitions. In the classroom, student-athletes must have a 3.30 GPA and have completed at least one calendar year at their institution. Freshmen are not eligible for consideration.