Article Image
Albany's Corrine McConville, Maine's Holly Stewart, UNH's Megan Bozek and Boston U.'s Jacinda McCleod were four of 16 America East field hockey stars to receive All-Region accolades Tuesday.
Courtesy: America East Communications

Sixteen Field Hockey Standouts Earn All-Region Accolades

Release: 11/15/2012
Files available Send this article to a friend Print RSS

A whopping 16 field hockey standouts from five America East field hockey programs have received Longstreth/NFHCA Division I All-Region honors, the coaches association announced Thursday.

Ten of the selections received first-team honors in either the Northeast or Mideast Regions, while six earned second-team accolades. Fifteen honorees were named to the Northeast Region squad, the most of any conference, while one player earned Mideast Region honors.

University at Albany, which captured the 2012 America East title, led the way with five selections, including four first-teamers. Daphne Voormolen, America East's Co-Offensive Player of the Year and the Most Outstanding Player of the league tournament, led the group and was joined by first-team all-conference choices Jessica Longstreth, Corrine McConville and Kristi Troch, America East's Co-Goalkeeper of the Year. The league's Rookie of the Year, Laura Page, earned second-team honors.

Four University of New Hampshire standouts made the squad, including America East Defensive Player of the Year Megan Bozek and Emma Erler, both first-team choices. Wildcats Kelly Joyce and Casey Pohlmeyer were second-team selections.

Ella Gunson, the America East Midfielder of the Year, led three Boston University honorees. She earned first-team honors along with Jacinda McLeod, while Nicole van Oosterom earned second-team accolades.

University of Maine's Annabelle Hamilton, the conference's Co-Offensive Player of the Year, was on the first team while Zoe Adkins and Holly Stewart was placed on the second team.

Fairfield University's Felicitas Heinen, the conference's leading scorer, was the league's lone player on the Mideast Region squad and earned first-team honors.

Several of America East's all-region honorees will be considered for All-America honors, which will be announced on Tuesday, Nov. 20.

2012 Longstreth/NFHCA Division I All-Region Teams
Northeast Region First Team

Jessica Longstreth, Albany
Corrine McConville, Albany
Daphne Voormolen, Albany
Kristi Troch, Albany
Ella Gunson, Boston U.
Jacinda McLeod, Boston U.
Annabelle Hamilton, Maine
Megan Bozek, New Hampshire
Emma Erler, New Hampshire

Mideast Region First Team

Felicitas Heinen, Fairfield

Northeast Region Second Team

Laura Page, Albany
Nicole van Oosterom, Boston U.
Zoe Adkins, Maine
Holly Stewart, Maine
Kellie Joyce, New Hampshire
Casey Pohlmeyer, New Hampshire

July 23, 2015
July 23, 2015
July 23, 2015
M Basketball
July 23, 2015
M Basketball
AMI Graphics
The Rock
Levy Marketing & Awards
Under Armour