Kathryn Fanning and Kelton Cullenberg are two of nine All-Conference performers to also earn All-Academic Honors.
Kathryn Fanning and Kelton Cullenberg are two of nine All-Conference performers to also earn All-Academic Honors.
Courtesy: America East Communications

Menís and Womenís Indoor Track & Field All-Academic Teams Announced

Release: 03/13/2013
CAMBRIDGE, Mass. – Twenty indoor track & field student-athletes have been honored for their outstanding performance in the classroom today. The conference announced the 2012-2013 America East All-Academic team which honors 10 men and 10 women who have been honored for both their academic and athletic achievements.

Five All-Conference performers highlight the men’s team which does not include a repeat indoor track & field All-Academic selection. Maine’s E. Kelton Cullenberg (Chesterville, Maine), Albany’s John DeLallo (Marietta, N.Y.), New Hampshire’s Kevin Greene (Silver Spring, Md.) and his teammate John Prizzi (Wycoff, N.J.) all claimed individual gold medals at this year’s America East Championship. Vermont’s Ethan McBrien (Dublin, N.H.) was also an All-Conference performer at this year’s indoor championships.

Rounding out this year’s selections are five first-time All-Academic selections. Albany – Jake Rachiele (Farmingdale, N.Y.) and Daryl Subran (Harriman, N.Y.) – and Hartford – John Busque (Manchester, Conn.) and Erik Quitzau (Blackstone, Mass.) – both boast a pair of selections while Binghamton’s Jason Santos joins a group of first time honorees. 

The women’s All-Academic squad features four repeat selections and two award winners at this year’s indoor championships. Corey Conner (West Townsend, Mass.) of Maine and Kathryn Fanning (Manlius, N.Y.) each won a pair of events at this year’s championships and tied with two others for the meet’s Coaches Award. Both women were also unanimous selections. 

Fanning, a two-time All-Academic selection, also headlines a group of four women that have earned repeat academic honors. Binghamton’s Jessica Henning (Pine Bush, N.Y.) – also an All-Conference perfomer – and Boston University teammates Allison Barwise (Orange, Conn.) and Katie Matthews (Rocky Hill, Conn.) earned indoor All-Academic honors for the third consecutive season.

Five first-time selections comprise the rest of the team: Hartford teammates Priscilla Appiagyei (South Windsor, Conn.) and Megan Barry (South Yarmouth, Mass.), Stony Brook’s Olivia Burne (Palmerston North, New Zealand), and New Hampshire teammates Darcy James (Exeter, N.H.) and Jessica Salley (Andover, Mass.).

The All-Academic squads are a product of the June 2005 Athletics Directors meeting where faculty representatives and athletics directors from each of the conference’s nine member institutions decided to honor the league’s top student-athletes, who excel equally in the classroom as they do on the playing field.
For the fourth straight year, America East will select the All-Academic teams using CoSIDA’s Academic All-America program as a model. Student-athletes worthy of consideration are nominated by member sports information directors and voted on by a committee of SIDs, academic advisors and faculty representatives from all nine member institutions.

All-Academic squads for team sports are based on the number of athletes that participate in a contest at one time or are made up of 10 student-athletes for individual sports. To be nominated for the distinction, student-athletes must be a starter or important reserve for their team and participate in at least 50 percent of their team’s games or competitions. In the classroom, student-athletes must have a 3.30 GPA and have completed at least one calendar year at their institution. Freshmen are not eligible for consideration.