Courtesy: America East Communications

2014 Woman of the Year Nominees Announced

Release: 05/06/2014

CAMBRIDGE, Mass. — Nine institutional nominees for the 2014 America East Woman of the Year award have been announced by the conference office. University at Albany's Kathryn Fanning (cross country/track & field), Binghamton University's Grace Vickers (volleyball), University of Hartford's Megan Barry (cross country/track & field), University of Maine's Lisa Bijman (soccer) and Maggie Malone (soccer), UMBC's Mallory McIntyre (volleyball), University of New Hampshire's Megan Bozek (field hockey), Stony Brook University's Olivia Burne (cross country/track & field) and University of Vermont's Kirsten Weberg (indoor & outdoor track) have been chosen as the senior female student-athletes on their respective campuses that best exemplified a commitment to service, leadership, athletics and academics during their collegiate careers.

To be nominated, student-athletes must have completed intercollegiate eligibility in her primary sport by the end of the 2014 spring season or received her undergraduate degree prior to the conclusion of the summer 2014 term and have a minimum cumulative grade-point average of 2.500 (4.000 scale).

The nominees will be narrowed down to three finalists on Tuesday, May 20 via a release on the conference web site with the America East Woman of the Year being announced at the conference’s Annual Meeting in Bretton Woods, New Hampshire on Tuesday, June 3.

The America East Woman of the Year will then be forwarded to the NCAA Woman of the Year selection committee. The selection committee will select the top 10 winners in each NCAA division (I, II and III). From among those 30 honorees, the selection committee will determine the top three in each division. Finally, the members of the NCAA Committee on Women’s Athletics (CWA) will vote from among the top nine to determine the 2014 NCAA Woman of the Year.

In conjunction with the changes in the nomination process for the NCAA Woman of the Year award, the America East Woman of the Year award was established for the 2005-06 athletic season. Beginning in 2006, the CWA started receiving conference-designated nominees in lieu of the previous institution- and state-based nomination format.

Nominees School Sport
Kathryn Fanning Albany Cross Country/Indoor & Outdoor Track & Field
Grace Vickers Binghamton Volleyball
Megan Barry Hartford Cross Country/Indoor & Outdoor Track & Field
Lisa Bijman Maine Soccer
Maggie Malone Maine Soccer
Mallory McIntyre UMBC Volleyball
Megan Bozek New Hampshire Field Hockey/Lacrosse
Olivia Burne Stony Brook Cross Country/Indoor & Outdoor Track & Field
Kirsten Weberg Vermont Indoor & Outdoor Track & Field

Year-by-Year America East Woman of the Year Honorees
2013    Katie Matthews, Boston University (cross country/track & field)
2012    Lucy Van Dalen, Stony Brook (cross country/track & field)
2011    Nikki Branchini, Albany (lacrosse)
2010    Emily Pallotta, Boston U. (soccer)
2009    Kristen Millar, Vermont (lacrosse)
2008    Sarah Hudak, Boston U. (field hockey)
2007    Marisa Ryan, Boston U. (cross country/track & field)
2006    Ashlee Reed, Albany (volleyball)