Courtesy: America East Communications

America East to Impact 2014 World Lacrosse Championships

Release: 07/02/2014

The best lacrosse players in the world  will gather in Denver starting July 10 for the 2014 World Lacrosse Championships and several current and former America East standouts will play major roles in deciding the champion. The tournament will air on ESPN networks.

Several current or former America East student-athletes will compete in the event for five different nations from July 10-19. The players combined to win six America East Player of the Year awards and five league titles.

The infamous Thompson brothers, Lyle, Miles and Ty, will play for Iroquois National Team. The All-Americans led Albany to the last two America East titles and the quarterfinals of the NCAA championship this season. Lyle, who'll return to the Great Danes for his senior season next year, set the NCAA single-season scoring record last season and shared the Tewaraaton Award with his brother Miles. Ty also earned All-America honors and now plays in the MLL for Rochester all with Miles.

Former Stony Brook star Kevin Crowley, the 2010 conference Player of the Year and former All-American, will be key for Canada's hopes in the tournament after being named MLL's top offensive player last year. John Grant, the 1999 Player of the Year for Delaware and a three-time MLL Offensive Player of the Year, will scheduled to dress for Canada but was a late stratch due to injury.

Brendan Mundorf, a two-time America East Player of the Year while at UMBC, is one of the USA's top players. The four-time MLL All-Star was the league's Palyer of the Year in 2012. This season is the leading scoring for the Chesapeake Bayhawks.

The America East Player of the Year in 2011, Jordan McBride, will suit up for Scotland as he did in 2010. He is Stony Brook's all-time leading goal scorer.

Current Stony Brook goaltender Hayden Johnstone, an America East All-Rookie choice last year, will play for Finland while other former Seawolves Michael Poch  and Larry Cerasi will compete for Poland. Former Vermont attacker Noah Miller will play for Israel.

The World Lacrosse Championships will be the latest stage for America East stars to impact the game. In all, America East Players have won three Tewaraaton Awards, four MLL Offensive Player of the Year awards and an MVP.

The tournament, which features 142 total games, takes place July 10-19. Forty-three games will air on ESPN networks, including USA vs. Canada facing off in the tournament opener, on July 10 on ESPN2.