Courtesy: America East Communications

Vermont's Emotional Victories Named #AEMomentOfTheYear

Release: 08/14/2014

After three days of voting from fans, the emotional victories at the 2014 Outdoor Track & Field Championship by Vermont's Cassie Marion and Aaron Szotka were named the 2013-14 #AEMomentOfTheYear.

The #AEMomentOfTheYear was determined by fan vote on the conference's America East Unlimited contes page. Marion and Szotka's emotional victories received 292 votes, accounting for better than 50% of the total vote. Albany's Lyle and Miles Thompson winning the Tewaaraton Award finished second, while Hartford's Sean Newcomb finished third.

Here's a look at all of the Moment of the Year nominees in order of finish by total votes...

1. Vermont Scores Emotional Victories

2. Lyle and Miles Thompson Share Tewaaraton Award

3. Hartford's Sean Newcomb selected 15th Overall in MLB Draft

4. Eddie Posavec Delivers a Title for Binghamton Baseball

5. UMBC Women's Soccer Completes Biggest Turnaround in AE History

6. UMass Lowell Men's Soccer Earns School's First DI Win

7. Albany Men's Basketball Wins NCAA 1st Round Game

8. Stony Brook Women's Lacrosse Wins NCAA 1st Round Game

9. New Hampshire's John Prizzi Finishes 8th at NCAA Championships

10. Albany Beats Top-Seeded Loyola in NCAA Tournament

11. Liz Snow Keeps Albany Softball Alive

12. UMBC Men's Soccer Earns National Seed

13. Maine Earns 1st Postseason Win since 1999