Courtesy: America East Communications

California, Pacific Win #AEFH Quarterfinal Contests, Advance to Semifinals

Release: 11/04/2016

STOCKTON, Calif. - California and Pacific each scored twice in the second half to advance to the semifinals of the 2016 America East Field Hockey Championship Friday at the University of the Pacific. The No. 3 seed from the West, Cal, overcame a one-goal deficit in the final 10 minutes to beat Maine, the #2 seed from the East, 3-2, in the first game of the day while the Tigers, the #2 seed from the West, scored twice in each half to oust New Hampshire, the #3 seed from the East in the nightcap.

Katrina Carter’s goal with 3:12 left sent California to the semifinals of the America East Championship for the first time. The Bears scored twice in the final seven minutes of the contest to down Maine. The Bears will face #W1 Stanford in the championship’s first semifinal Saturday at 3 p.m. ET/12 p.m. PT.

Kriekie van Wyk, the America East Offensive Player of the Year, scored twice to propel Pacific to the semifinals for the second-straight season. The Tigers take on #E1 Albany in the second semifinal Saturday at 5:30 p.m. ET/2:30 p.m. PT.

The two winners will meet for the 2016 America East title on Sunday at 4 p.m. ET/1 p.m. PT. All games can be seed on AmericaEast.TV.

Visit Championship Central for links to box scores and highlights from the quarterfinals and watch live and live stats links for the semifinals. Stay tuned to AmericaEast.com and follow America East on Twitter for updates.

 

 

MORE FROM AMERICA EAST Field Hockey