Courtesy: America East Communications

Albany Draws UConn in NCAA Tournament

Release: 11/08/2016

The 2016 America East women's soccer champion, Albany Great Danes, will travel to face UConn in the first round of the NCAA women's soccer tournament on Saturday, November 12 at 6:00 p.m. in Storrs, Conn. The field of 64 teams, which will compete for the 35th NCAA Division I Women’s Soccer Championship, was announced Monday by the Division I Women’s Soccer Committee.

The Great Danes (11-7-1), who are making their second-straight trip to the NCAA tournament, earned the conference's automatic bid after defeating Hartford, 2-1, on Sunday night in the America East championship game. Albany won its second-straight conference title, becoming the first team since 2011 to win back-to-back titles and the fifth in league history. 

UConn is the 2016 champion of the American Athletic Conference, defeating SMU 1-0 in the title game.  The Huskies stand at 18-2-1 overall and 8-0-1 in AAC play.

The winner of UAlbany-UConn will take on the victor of Auburn-South Alabama in the NCAA Second Round on November 18th.

The America East has 11 all-time NCAA wins and is 11-26 all-time in NCAA tournament play. In 2011, Boston University became the first America East team to host an NCAA contest since 2000. The league has received multiple bids five times, most recently in 2006. Hartford has twice gone deep into the tournament, winning three games before falling in the quarterfinals in 1999 and reaching the Final Four in 1992. The last tournament win came in 2011 when Boston University defeated Harvard, 3-0.

Thirty-one conferences were granted automatic bids for the 2016 championship, while the remaining 33 teams were selected at-large. The top 16 teams are seeded and conference teams cannot play each other in the first- or second-rounds. When pairing teams, the committee follows geographic proximity parameters. The top 16 teams will host and all other sites were selected for the first-round to create the least number of flights.

First-round games will be played November 11, 12 and 13 at campus sites. Second-round games will be played Friday, November 18 at campus sites, and third-round games will be played Sunday, November 20 at the same campus sites. Quarterfinal games will be played November 25 or 26 also on campus sites.

The 35th annual NCAA Women’s College Cup will be played December 2 and 4 at Avaya Stadium in San Jose, California, with the West Coast Conference and the San Jose Sports Authority serving as co-hosts. The first national semifinal will be played and shown live on ESPNU at 5 p.m. Eastern Time Friday, December 2. The second semifinal will begin at approximately 7:30 p.m. Eastern Time live on ESPNU. The national championship match will take place at 6 p.m Eastern Time on Sunday, December 4 and will also broadcast live on ESPNU.