Courtesy: America East Communications

Wright, Fernandes Named MAC Hermann Award Semifinalists

Release: 12/01/2016

A pair of America East men's soccer standouts were name semifinalists for the MAC Hermann trophy, which is awarded to the top men's and women's student-athlete in college soccer each year. UMass Lowell's Wuilito Fernandes and Vermont's Brian Wright were among the 15 semifinalists named.

America East joins the ACC and Big East as the only conferences with multiple semifinalists. 

Fernandes was named the conference's Striker of the Year after tallying 27 points on 11 goals and five assists this season. He led UMass Lowell to its first-ever America East regular-season title, a 13-1-2 record and the third-best RPI in the nation.

Wright, a first-team All-Conference choice, ranks among the nation's best with 40 points on 14 goals ans 12 assists. He scored three goals and had an assist in Vermont's 4-1 win over Rider in the first round of the NCAA tournament. 

The MAC Hermann Trophy, the most coveted individual honor in NCAA Division I soccer, has been awarded annually since 1967.