Courtesy: America East Communications

#AEMLAX Championship Begins With Semis Thursday

Release: 05/04/2017

ALBANY, N.Y. - The 2017 America East Men's Lacrosse Championship returns to Albany this weekend for the third -straight year featuring two returnees and two new teams from last year.

The tournament kicks off Thursday with semifinal action Semifinal as #2 UMBC faces #3 Binghamton in the first semifinal at 4:30 p.m. followed by #1 Albany, the #6/5 team in the country, battling #4 Stony Brook at 7:00 p.m. in the nightcap.

The two winners will face off for the league title on Saturday, May 6 at noon with the winner earning a trip the NCAA Tournament, where America East teams have won five games in the past 10 seasons.

For the first time, the entire championship will air on ESPN networks with the semifinals on ESPN3 and the championship game on ESPNU. For all the latest information on the America East Men's Lacrosse Championship, including to purchase tickets and find video and live stat links, visit Championship Central.


Championship Primer

  • This is the ninth time Albany, Binghamton, UMBC and Stony Brook have comprised the four-team championship field.
  • Last season the lower seed won every tournament game, a first in any sport in America East.
  • Albany, the #6/5 team in the country, is the tournament's top seed for the fifth-straight year and eighth time overall.
  • The Great Danes (12-2) are the nation's top-scoring team averaging over 15 goals per contest.
  • UMBC (6-7) is back in the championship for the first time since 2014 after posting its most wins since that season.
  • The Retrievers are seeking their fourth America East crown and first since 2009. 
  • Binghamton (10-4) is also back in the championship for the first time since 2014 after posting its most wins and league wins (4) since that season.
  • The Bearcats, who are in search of their first-ever league crown, were nationally ranked for the first time since 2006.
  • Stony Brook (7-6) is making its 17th consecutive championship appearance and has never missed the tournament since joining the conference ahead of the 2002 season.
  • The Seawolves are going for their fourth league crown and first since 2012.