Courtesy: America East Communications

Albany, Binghamton Play for #AEMLAX Title Saturday Morning on ESPNU

Release: 05/06/2017

ALBANY, N.Y. - For the first time since 2004, Albany and Binghamton will decide the America East men's lacrosse title as the top-seeded Great Danes take on the third-seeded Bearcats for the crown Saturday morning at noon at Albany's Casey Stadium.

The game will be nationally televised on ESPNU and also available on WatchESPN with Quint Kessenich (play-by-play) and Paul Carcaterra (analyst) on the call. Heritage Sports Radio Network will have a national radio call of the game on SiriusXM; XM 201, Sirius 108 with Mike Corey (play-by-play) and Jack Piatelli on the call.

Visit Championship Central for watch live and live stats links for the title game. Stay tuned to and follow America East on Twitter for updates.

Championship Game Primer    

  • Top-seeded Albany (13-2) and third-seeded Binghamton (11-4) will meet in the conference championship game Saturday.
  • It will be just the second time Albany and Binghamton have met for the league crown. Albany beat Binghamton, 10-4, in the 2004 championship game. Binghamton head coach Kevin McKeown was the starting goalkeeper for the Bearcats that day.
  • Albany beat Stony Brook, 19-6, in the semifinals to advance to its 13th championship game all-time. The Great Danes are seeking their eighth America East title and fourth since 2013.
  • Binghamton posted just its second-ever tournament win and first since 2004 when it beat UMBC, 9-4, Thursday.
  • The Bearcats are seeking their first conference title.
  • The game will pit the nation's best offense and one of its best defenses against each other. Albany, the #6/5 team in the country, scores 15.5 goals per game while Binghamton sports a league-best 7.41 team GAA, which ranks third nationally.
  • Albany captured its fifth-straight America East regular-season title and has won 34 straight conference games.
  • Binghamton's has a seven win improvement from last year and its 11 wins are its most since 2014.
  • The Great Danes hold a 14-3 all-time series edge and beat Binghamton, 10-4, on April 19.
  • Albany features the America East Offensive Player of the Year, Connor Fields, and Rookie of the Year, TD Ierlan, while
  • Binghamton has the Defensive Player of the Year, Garrett Waldron, and Coach of the Year, Kevin McKweon.
  • America East teams have 11 NCAA wins all-time, including five since 2007.
  • America East has four Tewaaraton Award winners all-time, second only to the ACC. Connor Fields is a candidate this year.