Courtesy: America East Communications

Fields, Ohlmiller Named Tewaaraton Finalists

Release: 05/11/2017

For the first time in conference history, the America East has both a men's and women's finalist for the prestigious Tewaaraton Award presented by Under Armour, the organization announced Thursday. Albany junior Connor Fields and Stony Brook junior Kylie Ohlmiller were among the five men and five women who were selected as finalists and will be invited to Washington, D.C., for the 17th annual Tewaaraton Award ceremony on June 1, 2017.

Joining Fields as finalists are Denver's Trevor Baptiste, Maryland's Matt Rambo, Yale's Ben Reeves and Loyola's Patrick Spencer.

Joining Ohlmiller as finalists are Maryland's Nadine Hadnagy and Zoe Stukenberg, North Carolina's Marie McCool and Princeton's Olivia Hompe.

America East is one of just three conferences (Ivy League and Big Ten) with both a men's and women's nominee.

Fields is the sixth America East men's lacrosse student-athlete to be named a finalist in the last eight years, joining Albany's Lyle Thompson (three-time finalist), Miles Thompson (2014) and Stony Brook's Kevin Crowley (2010). Lyle and Miles were Co-Tewaaraton Award winners in 2014 and Lyle became the first repeat winner in 2015. America East is joined by the ACC as the only conferences with multiple Tewaaraton Award winners.

Fields, the America East Offensive Player of the Year, leads the nation with 6.75 points per game. He ranks third in goals per game (3.19) and second in assists per game (3.56) and led the Great Danes to the America East title, earing Most Outstanding Player honors. 

Ohlmiller is the first nominee in America East history on the women's side. The junior has been electric, leading the Seawolves to their highest national ranking in program history at No. 4 in both the Inside Lacrosse and IWLCA polls. She leads the nation, averaging 7.63 points per game and is approaching the Division I single-season record of 148 points set by Maryland's Jen Adams in 2001.

About The Tewaaraton Foundation

The Tewaaraton Award is recognized as the pre-eminent lacrosse award, annually honoring the top male and female college lacrosse player in the United States. The Award symbolizes lacrosse's centuries-old roots in Native American heritage and is endorsed by the Mohawk Nation Council of Elders and US Lacrosse. The Tewaaraton Foundation is a non-profit that defines the mission and upholds the integrity of The Tewaaraton Award. Each year, the Tewaaraton Award celebrates one of the six tribal nations of the Iroquois Confederacy – the Mohawk, Cayuga, Oneida, Onondaga, Seneca and Tuscarora – and presents two scholarships to students of Native American descent. To learn more about The Tewaaraton Foundation, visit

About America East

The America East provides its member schools and their athletic programs a platform upon which student-athletes can achieve both collegiate and life success through the promotion and nurturing of athletic excellence, academic achievement and leadership, on and off the field.