Courtesy: America East Communications

21 Standouts Named Outdoor #AETF All-Academic Selections

Release: 05/24/2017

BOSTON – Twenty-one of America East's top track & field student-athletes were named to the conference's 2017 Outdoor Track & Field All-Academic teams on Wednesday. The teams consist of student-athletes who excel both academically and athletically.

Elinor Purrier highlighted the women's team. The New Hampshire junior holds the nation's top time in the steeplechase and won the event at the America East Outdoor Championship earlier this month.

Joining Purrier was her teammate Laura Rose Donegan, Albany's Mary Adeyeye, Maine's Taylor Lenentine, UMBC's Sophia Cologer, UMass Lowell's Kerstin Darsney, Chelsea Owusu, Jaclyn Solimine and Alli Wood and Vermont's Anna Kaplan and Grace Weisbecker.

The men's All-Academic Team was led by Paul Hogan of UMass Lowell, who broke the America East Championship record in the 10,000-meter run.

Binghamton's Joe Miceli, Maine's Jesse Orach and Jake Osborne, UMBC's Erick Soetje, New Hampshire's Nicholas Ritzo, Stony Brook's Michael Watts and Vermont's Paul Moore, Ed Simon and Ian Weider round out the team.

To be eligible for All-Academic, student-athletes must have sophomore athletic eligibility, attain a 3.30 minimum grade-point average and a contributor on their team. The squad is voted on by a committee made up of America East student-athlete support and athletic communications administrators as well as faculty athletic representatives. 

America East is proud to have one of most comprehensive academic awards programs in the country. In addition to the All-Academic program, Elite 17 Awards are bestowed in each of the conference's sponsored sports. Additionally, a Scholar-Athlete, someone who distinguishes himself/herself as the top student-athlete in his/her sport, is awarded. From that group, one male and one female is selected the America East Scholar-Athlete of the Year. The conference also recognizes all student-athletes who achieve at least a 3.0 GPA on its Academic Honor Roll, with those achieving a 3.50 average or better receiving Commissioner's Honor Roll status. The Presidential Scholar-Athlete award recognizes graduating student-athletes who compiled a cumulative GPA of 3.75 or higher as an undergraduate student. Finally, the Academic Cup is presented to the institution whose student-athletes post the highest grade-point average during that academic year.