Boston U.'s Dalton Repeats As Women's Lacrosse Player of the Year

Release: 04/29/2009
Courtesy: America East Communications
CAMBRIDGE, Mass. - This season’s theme appears to be “twice as nice” as the 2009 America East Women’s Lacrosse end of year awards have a distinct deja vu feeling. Boston University’s Sarah Dalton becomes just the second women’s lacrosse player in league history to earn back-to-back Player of the Year accolades after leading America East in scoring for a second straight year. A University of Vermont freshman captures the Rookie of the Year award also for the second straight year, as Catamount Allison Pfohl takes home the individual honor. Rounding out the major hardware on the eve of the 2009 America East Women’s Lacrosse Championship is Coach of the Year, which is awarded to Terrier coach Liz Robertshaw who led her team to a consecutive undefeated league season in 2009. All awards were determined in a vote by the league’s head coaches.

Dalton (Cornwall, Vt./Taft School), a three-time first-team honoree, has a school- and conference-record 75 goals this season, complemented by 11 assists, 46 ground balls and 49 draw controls. The senior midfielder’s 4.69 goals per game and 5.38 points per game rank first and fourth, respectively, in Division I this season. Dalton, a Tewaaraton Trophy nominee for the second straight year and a four-time conference Player of the Week this year, scored eight goals in a single game once, seven goals three times and five or more goals in a game on nine separate occasions this year. She joins former Terrier Chrissy Lombard, who won three Player of the Year trophies, as the only two women’s lacrosse players in league history to win the annual award multiples times.

Pfohl (Niskayuna, N.Y./Niskayuna), a freshman midfielder, leads all America East rookies with 31 goals and 2.07 goals per game, which ranks tenth in the conference overall. Her 31 goals and 36 points both rank second on the team. Pfohl is also an efficient shooter, with over 44 percent of her 70 shots hitting the back of the net and over 64 percent of them on goal. This two-time America East Rookie of the Week’s best game came against Siena on March 4 when she recorded a career-high four goals and two assists for six points. Pfohl has already recorded seven hat tricks during her freshman campaign.

Robertshaw, earning her first America East Coach of the Year accolade, is in her third season as head coach of the Terriers and her sixth season with the program. She has led Boston U. to its second straight 6-0 conference record, and a 13-3 overall mark, defeating two ranked opponents in the process. Robertshaw’s team enters the conference tournament on a season-high 11-game win streak and is the top seed for the second year in a row. The Terriers, ranked 10th in the Inside Lacrosse Division I National Poll, will begin their quest to defend their crown when they face Vermont in Thursday’s semifinal.

Boston U. led all teams with a conference-high eight honorees on the all-conference first and second teams. New Hampshire had the second-most award recipients with five, all of them earning first-team accolades to lead the league.

Joining Dalton on the first team is Albany’s sophomore attack Jodi Battaglia (Amherst, N.Y./Amherst Central), junior midfielder Kayla Best (Guilderland, N.Y./Guilderland) and sophomore defense Nikki Branchini (Guilderland, N.Y./Guilderland), Boston U.’s junior attack McKinley Curro (Amherst, N.H./Souhegan) and senior defense Kelly Munroe (Westwood, Mass./Westwood), New Hampshire senior attack Sarah Von Bargen (East Setauket, N.Y./Ward Melville), junior attack Shuanna Kaplan (Framingham, Mass./Framingham), senior midfield Michaela Hardy (Reading, Mass./Reading), sophomore defense Allie Duclos (South Windsor, Conn./South Windsor) and senior defense Beth Stankus (Derry, N.H./Pinkerton), UMBC junior goalkeeper Kate Quick (Phoenix, Md./Maryvale Prep), and Vermont senior midfield Kristen Millar (Whitby, Ontario/Sinclair Secondary).

Pfohl is a member of the second team, along with Albany’s sophomore midfield Mel Rorie (Lansdale, Pa./North Penn), Binghamton’s sophomore defense Siobhan Menz (Webster, N.Y./Webster), Boston U.’s junior attack Erica Baumgartner (Silver Spring, Md./Our Lady of Good Counsel), junior attack Xan Weitzel (Moorestown, N.J./Moorestown), junior midfield Traci Landy (Seaford, N.Y./Seaford), sophomore defense Corcoran Downey (Ellicott City, Md./Centennial) and junior goalkeeper Rachel Klein (Forest Hill, Md./Roland Park), UMBC’s sophomore attack Ashley Stodter (Silver Spring, Md./Good Counsel), senior midfield Kara Dorr (Bel Air, Md./C. Milton Wright) and junior defense Sarah Willis (Bel Air, Md./C. Milton Wright), Stony Brook’s senior midfield Kaitlin Leggio (Bay Shore, N.Y./Bay Shore) and senior defense Jenna Spenard (Cicero, N.Y./Cicero-North Syracuse), and Vermont’s senior defense Jessa Merrill (Kennebunk, Maine/Kennebunk).

Pfohl is also joined on the All-Rookie Team, chosen regardless of position, by Albany’s attack Melanie Sosnowski (Massapequa Park, N.Y./Massapequa) and attack Jenn Primeau (Niskayuna, N.Y./Niskayuna), Binghamton’s attack Lis Zuern (Cicero, N.Y./Cicero-North Syracuse), Boston U.’s midfield Hannah Frey (Nyack, N.Y./Nanuet), UMBC’s attack Emily Coady (Westminster, Md./Westminster), New Hampshire’s defense Ilana Cohen (Andover, Mass./Andover) and midfield Kate Keagins (Bayshore, N.Y./Bayshore), and Vermont’s goalkeeper Olivia Hatfield (Alpharetta, Ga./Milton) and attack Samantha Stern (Cherry Hill, N.J./Cherry Hill East).

Eighteen of the 27 all-conference sections will be in action at the 2009 America East Women’s Lacrosse Championship beginning on Thursday, April 30 at Boston University’s Nickerson Field. Live stats and free live video will be available for all three games. For more information on America East women’s lacrosse, including stats, schedules and links to live games, visit and navigate to the women’s lacrosse championship central.