Stony Brook will host the 2011 America East Baseball Championship May 25-27, and 28th if necessary, on the recently built Joe Nathan Field.
Stony Brook will host the 2011 America East Baseball Championship May 25-27, and 28th if necessary, on the recently built Joe Nathan Field.
Courtesy: America East Communications

Stony Brook, Maine, Binghamton & Albany Comprise Tourney Field

Release: 05/21/2011

Cambridge, Mass.-- The 2011 America East Baseball Championship host site and seeds are set following the final day of regular-season competition. The Stony Brook Seawolves will serve as the championship host for the first time since 2008, and the first time at the newly-built Joe Nathan Field, beginning on Wednesday, May 25.

The America East Baseball Championship is a four-team, double-elimination tournament. The winner will receive an automatic berth to the NCAA Tournament.

The defending America East tournament champion Stony Brook earned the right to host the tournament by winning the America East Regular Season Championship, dropping just two games of the 24-game conference slate. University of Maine enters the championship as the two seed for the second straight year, Binghamton University will be the third seed, and University at Albany earned the fourth seed.

The Seawolves (41-10 overall record, 22-2 America East record) just needed one win during their four-game weekend series at home against University at Albany (19-29, 11-11) to clinch the tournament's top seed, but took care of business and swept the Great Danes. It was more than enough for Stony Brook to win its first-ever regular-season title.

The sweep set up a first-round match-up between the Seawolves and Great Danes at the America East Championship on Wednesday, May 25. The first-round match-up is a rematch of last year's title game which the Seawolves won, 4-2.

Another regular-season-ending weekend series proving to be a first-round championship preview, the Black Bears (29-22, 18-6) finished the weekend with a 3-1 record against the Bearcats (21-26, 13-10) in Orono. Maine and Binghamton will meet again at Stony Brook on Wednesday.

All four tournament participants have won at least one America East Championship. Maine, who has the most of the group with four titles, has also had the longest drought with its last championship coming in 2006. Stony Brook has three conference trophies (2004, '08, '10), and Binghamton (2009) and Albany (2007) have one apiece.

2011 America East Baseball Championship
All games at Joe Nathan Field, Stony Brook, N.Y.

Wednesday, May 25

Game 1 - #2 Maine (home) vs. #3 Binghamton

Game 2 - #1 Stony Brook (home) vs. #4 Albany                          

Thursday, May 26

Game 3 - Loser Game 1 vs. Loser Game 2                               

Game 4 - Winner Game 1 vs. Winner Game 2                              

Friday, May 27

Game 5 - Winner Game 3 vs. Loser Game 4                                

Game 6 - Winner Game 4 vs. Winner Game 5                            

Saturday, May 28                                 

Game 7 - Winner Game 6 vs. Loser Game 6, if necessary