Article Image
The Binghamton University men and Boston University women kept their tennis dynasties rolling as they earned America East titles in tennis Sunday.
Courtesy: America East Communications

Boston U. Women and Binghamton Men Continue Championship Streaks

Release: 05/01/2011
Send this article to a friend Print RSS

NEW HAVEN, Conn. - The championship streaks remained intact in both women's and men's tennis as the second-seeded Boston University women won their 18th straight America East crown with a 4-3 win over top-seeded Binghamton University while the men's title went to No. 1 Binghamton, which grabbed a 4-1 victory over No. 2 UMBC, for the fourth straight year.

For the second year in a row, the Boston U. women went to the final match to grab a 4-3 win in the America East tennis championship final over the top-seeded Binghamton women. Boston U. freshman Leonie-Charlotte Athanasiadis, playing from the No. 5 singles position, won the deciding match, 6-2, 6-7, 6-2, over Binghamton junior Marina Bykovskaya. The Terriers also earned key points from their second, third and sixth singles players. Sophomore Vivien Laszloffy grabbed a 6-1, 6-4 victory from the No. 2 slot while junior Petra Santini won in the No. 3 slot, 6-2, 6-4, and Jessi Linero won, 6-1, 6-0, at the No. 6 position. The Terriers needed to pick up four singles victories after Binghamton grabbed the doubles point. Junior Jillian Santos and senior Yulia Smirnova led the way with an 8-1 victory at No, 2 doubles for the Bearcats. Smirnova also won her singles match, 6-3, 6-3, in the fourth position while senior No. 1 Anna Edelman grabbed a three-set victory, 6-2, 3-6, 6-3, over Terrier junior Stefanie Nunic.

Nunic was named the tournament's Most Outstanding Player, due in part to a crucial semifinal win over Stony Brook No. 1 Nini Lagvilava.

On the men's side, Binghamton picked up a 4-1 win over Binghamton in a rematch of the 2010 America East Championship final. The Bearcats jumped out to an early lead with wins at Nos. 2 and 3 doubles to earn the doubles point. Senior Arnav Jain and junior Alexandre Haggai picked up an 8-5 win at No. 2 doubles while sophomores Bastian Bornkessel and Ruben Devos won at No. 3 doubles, 8-3. Binghamton continued its strong play as senior No. 1 Sven Vloedgraven, the tournament's Most Outstanding Player, dropped just one game in a 6-0, 6-1 win. Devos earned a 6-3, 6-3 win at No. 6 before junior Gilbert Wong clinched the championship for the Bearcats with a 6-3, 7-5 win from the third position. UMBC sophomore Gaulthier Berret picked up the lone point for the Retrievers, winning his No. 5 singles match, 6-4, 6-1.

With their conference championships, the Boston U. women and Binghamton men both earn automatic bids to the NCAA championship.


April 29
Women's First Round
No. 3 Stony Brook 4, Hartford 0
No. 4 UMBC 4, Albany 0

Men's First Round
No. 4 Stony Brook 4, Hartford 0

April 30
Women's Consolation
Albany 7, Hartford 0      

Women's Semifinals
#1 Binghamton 4, UMBC 0     
#2 Boston U. 4, Stony Brook 3     

Men's Semifinals
#1 Binghamton 5, Stony Brook 0     
#2 UMBC 4, #3 Boston U. 0
May 1
Women's Final
Boston U. 4, Binghatmon 3     

Men's Final
Binghamton 4, UMBC 1

July 23, 2015
July 23, 2015
July 23, 2015
M Basketball
July 23, 2015
M Basketball
AMI Graphics
The Rock
Levy Marketing & Awards
Under Armour