Boston and UMBC Lead Heading Into Final Day At Swimming & Diving Championship

Release: 02/21/2009
Courtesy: America East Communications

BOSTON, Mass.- Heading into the final day of the 2009 America East Swimming & Diving Championship at Boston University’s Fitness & Recreation Center, the UMBC men and the Boston University women remain in the lead.

The Retrievers (636) lead the Boston University (616) men, Binghamton University (490), Stony Brook University (245) and the University of Maine (132).

The Terriers top the women’s field, followed by defending champions UMBC (440), University of Vermont (382), University of New Hampshire (363), Stony Brook University (208), Binghamton University (181) and the University of Maine (104).

The men’s and women’s 400-yard individual medley kicked off the day with Binghamton's Nolan Slesnick (Austin, Texas/LBJ-LASA) earning first place for the men with a time of 3:56.23 and Boston’s Christina Ruggiero (Wilmington, Del./St. Marks) winning it for the women, touching first in 4:24.83.

Boston University swept the 100-yard butterfly.  Emily Munday (Butte, Mont./Butte) led the field in the 100-yard butterfly with a time of 54.88 and Matthew Rickett (Portland, Maine/Deering) broke the previous conference record by almost two seconds and provisionally qualified for the NCAA Championship with his time of 46.43.  The performance was enough to place Rickett as the 13th fastest swimmer in the event nationally.  

In the 200-yard freestyle Vermont’s Colleen Clark (Unionville, Conn./Farmington) continue a stellar championship performance, earning first-place and breaking a conference record dating back to 1996 with her time of 1:47.51.  For the men, Justin Bronson (Oshawa, Ontario/MSGR. Paul Dwyer), a retriever, touched in 1:37.23 to continue his dominant senior season.  

Allison Nahin (Hartlanda, Wisc./Arrowhead) of New Hampshire earned first in the 100-yard breaststroke by out pacing the field with a time of 1:03.94.  Binghamton’s Andrew Palumbo (Yorktown Heights, N.Y./Yorktown Heights) earned the victory for the men by swimming the event in an impressive 56.37.
In the 100-yard backstroke, UMBC’s Milos Djukic (Novi Sad, Serbia/Svetozar Markovic) edged out Boston University for vital points by swimming a time of 49.76.  New Hampshire’s Amy Perrault (Kirkland, Canada/Ecole Catholique Jean-Vanier) touched first for the women.  Boston University’s Bryon Kallert (New Milford, N.J./New Milford), Kyle Ernst (Seekonk, Mass./Seekonk), Matthew Rickett
(Portland, Maine/Deering) and Jackson Hill (Naperville, Ill.Naperville North) out swam the rest of the competition by nearly three seconds by touching in 3:16.95.

The 400-yard medley relay was an exciting end to a busy day, with the unstoppable New Hampshire squad of Amy Perrault
(Kirkland, Canada/Ecole Catholique Jean-Vanier), Allison Nahin (Hartlanda, Wisc./Arrowhead), Sarah Kanellas Lowell, Mass./Lowell) and Jessie Ellisalcaide (Harpsell, Maine/Univ. of Maine) touching in 3:46.62, nearly two seconds ahead of their closest competitor.  

On the three-meter diving boards Boston University standout Andre Watson (Hempstead, N.Y./Rutgers University) placed first with a score of 631.60.  

The four day Championship will conclude tomorrow with the preliminaries beginning at 10 a.m. and the finals at 5:30 p.m.  Champions will be crowned in the men and women’s 1650 freestyle, 200-yard backstroke, 100-yard freestyle, 200-yard breaststroke, 200-yard butterfly, and women’s one-meter diving.  Team Champions and men and women’s Most Outstanding Swimmer, Most Outstanding Diver, Most Outstanding Rookie, Coaches’ Award and Coaching Staff of the Year will be named in a ceremony following the completion of the events.


Saturday's Complete Results