Hartford Men, Boston U. Women Capture America East Golf Titles

Release: 05/06/2007

Men's Day Two Results
Women's Day Two Results

APALACHIN, N.Y. Hartford’s Zack Ungvarsky drained a 25-foot birdie putt on the first hole of sudden-death playoff action versus Binghamton to give the Hawks a dramatic victory at the 2007 America East Men’s Golf Championship. Boston University took home the hardware on the women’s side, wrapping up the two-day America East Golf Championships at Links at Hiawatha Landing in Apalachin, N.Y. on Sunday afternoon.

For the Hawks, the victory marks their 12th conference title and the second in as many years. Hartford and Binghamton finished the day with identical scores of 608, which forced the first playoff in the history of the league’s event. Boston University rounded out the three-team men’s field with a two-day total of 656.

The conference’s playoff format is sudden-death, beginning on the first hole, and takes the top four scores from both five-member squads. Binghamton was able to tally four pars on the first playoff hole, while Hartford had three pars and Ungvarsky’s birdie, which proved to be the difference.

Binghamton entered the final day trailing the first-place Hawks by nine strokes, but was able to fight back to force the sudden-death playoff behind a two-under par 70 from the 2007 Kenneth J. Pope Medalist Aaron Ungvarsky, brother of Zach Ungvarsky. The biggest highlight of the day for Aaron Ungvarsky came on the 223-yard, par three sixth hole as he perfectly struck his six iron to record an impressive hole-in-one. His two-day tally of 143 tied the conference record for the best 36-hole total in championship play.

The Terriers became the first program to repeat in the four-year history of the women’s event as they shot a two-day 676. Hartford finished second (683), while Albany (742) rounded out the three-team field.

Boston University’s Lauren Stong took home the medalist honors as she turned in the best two-day total in championship history with a 163. Stong shot a 79 on the final day of competition to go along with a first round 84, breaking the previous mark of 165 set by Albany’s Jill Friedman and Diane Onofry back in 2005.

For the second-consecutive season, Hartford’s Bill Poutre was named men’s Coach of the Year, while Boston University’s Cammy Landry took home women’s Coach of the Year honors.

The field for the NCAA Men’s Golf Championship will be announced on ncaasports.com on Monday, May 7 at 6 p.m.

The stroke-play championship was a 36-hole event, with rounds of 18 holes each day. It marked the first time the Links at Hiawatha Landing served as host of the conference’s title meet.