The America East provides member schools and their athletic programs a platform upon which student-athletes can achieve both collegiate and life success through the promotion and nurturing of athletic excellence, academic achievement and leadership, on and off the field.

America East is proud to sponsor one of the most comprehensive academic awards programs in the country, honoring over 2,000 student-athletes each year via six unique award categories:

  • All-Academic teams comprised of student-athletes that excel both academically and athletically are chosen in each of the conference's 18 sports by a committee consisting of faculty athletic representatives, academic advisors and sports information directors.
  • Scholar-Athletes, the best student-athlete who excels both athletically and academically, are chosen in each sport while an overall Male and Female Scholar-Athlete of the Year is also chosen.
  • The conference recognizes all student-athletes who achieve at least a 3.0 GPA on its Academic Honor Roll, with those achieving a 3.5 average or better receiving Commissioner's Honor Roll status.
  • Presidential Scholar-Athlete awards are bestowed to student-athletes who graduate with a 3.75 GPA.
  • Elite 18 awards the student-athlete with the highest GPA competing in each of America East 18 championships.
  • The Academic Cup is awarded to the school with the highest cumulative GPA among its student-athletes for that academic year.


2015-16 New Hampshire David MacKinnon, Harttford || baseball  Laura Rose Donegan, New Hampshire  ||  cross country/track & field
2014-15 Hartford/New Hampshire Billy Hearvner, UMBC  ||  soccer Liz Wood, Maine || basketball
2013-14 Hartford Kelton Cullenberg, Maine ||  track & field Olivia Burne, Stony Brook || cross country, track & field
2012-13 Hartford Liam Paddock, UMBC || soccer Katie Matthews, Boston U. || track & field
2011-12 Hartford Tyler Johnson, Stony Brook || baseball Lucy Van Dalen, Stony Brook || track & field
2010-11 Vermont Sven Vloedgraven, Binghamton || tennis Nikki Branchini, Albany || lacrosse
2009-10 Vermont Sven Vloedgraven, Binghamton || tennis May Kotsopoulos, Vermont || basketball
2008-09 Vermont Connor Tobin, Vermont || soccer Kristen Millar, Vermont || lacrosse
2007-08 Vermont Rory Quiller, Binghamton || track & field Sarah Hudak, Boston U. || cross country/track & field
2006-07 Vermont/Maine Rory Quiller, Binghamton || track & field Marisa Ryan, Boston U. || cross country/track & field
2005-06 Vermont Andy Allstadt, Albany || track & field Marisa Ryan, Boston U. || cross country/track & field
2004-05 Vermont Aaron Izaryk, Maine || baseball Amy Cochran, Vermont || soccer
2003-04 Maine Jacob Jentzer, Maine || swimming & diving Lana Khvalina, UMBC || tennis
2002-03 Binghamton Emil Bove, Albany || lacrosse Jenny Payne, Stony Brook || cross country
2001-02 Binghamton Emil Bove, Albany || lacrosse Amy DeCamp, New Hampshire || cross country
2000-01 Drexel Chris Shaver, Vermont || soccer Lori Swanson, Drexel || softball
1999-2000 New Hampshire Brian McGillen, Delaware || swimming & diving Karalyn Church, Vermont || basketball
1998-99 New Hampshire Dave Geesaman, Delaware || cross country/track & field Orsi Farkas, New Hampshire || basketball
1997-98 Drexel Ramin Kazemi, Towson || tennis Denise Leckenby, New Hampshire || swimming & diving
1996-97 Hartford Bjorn Hansen, Northeastern || soccer Jennifer Falk, Drexel || volleyball
1995-96 Vermont Michael Polsky, Hofstra || tennis Jen Ruggerio, Northeastern || field hockey